Grain Glossary-The Different Types of Rice Grains You Should Know

India is a country where rice is a staple in every Indian kitchen and diet.

Each state in India has a certain type of rice native to it. This variety of rice can be distinguished on the basis of colour, smell, taste, length and shape. The different types of rice have different health benefits like digestion, stabilizing blood sugar levels, slowing down the ageing process, etc.

To help you better understand the different types of rice, we have put together a glossary of 5 majorly found rice types in the country that you probably did not know about

  1.  Brown Rice

Brown rice is known to be a healthy alternative to white rice. It is a great source of manganese, phosphorus, vitamin b6, fibre and selenium. It is also an excellent source of soluble fibre.

2.  Brown Rice

This rice is mainly cultivated in Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu and can be used to treat digestive disorders and morning sickness.

3. Red Rice

Also known at Matta Rice, the red parboiled rice is mainly grown in the Palakkad district of Kerala. This iron-rich variety of rice is known to battle the symptoms of cancer.

4. Black Rice

Cultivated mostly in Manipur, the black rice is a rich source of antioxidants! It is also known to be an integral part of Asian cuisine. It is a great source of dietary fibre.

5.  Parboiled Rice

Parboiled rice is a type of rice that has been partially boiled in the husk before milling it. This type of rice is usually eaten by individuals who suffer from diabetes. The high content of potassium, iron, calcium, and magnesium makes this rice perfect for people with high blood sugar levels.

Now let’s include these types of rice to add to our daily diet for a healthier lifestyle. You can avail them at Nature’s Basket, today!

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *